Upon begin of our retreat, and throughout our stay at the center, we are requested to take the following vows:

  1. I undertake the precept to refrain from taking the life (killing) of living beings.
    Pānātipātā veramani sikkhāpadam samādiyāmi
  2. I undertake the precept to refrain from stealing. (lit. “taking what is not offered”)
    Adinnādānā veramani sikkhāpadam samādiyāmi
  3. I undertake the precept to refrain from sexual misconduct (adultery, rape, exploitation, etc).
    Kāmesu micchācāra veramani sikkhāpadam samādiyāmi
  4. I undertake the precept to refrain from false speech (lying).
    Musāvāda veramani sikkhāpadam samādiyāmi
  5. I undertake the precept to refrain from intoxicants which lead to heedlessness.
    Surā meraya majja pamādatthānā veramani sikkhāpadam samādiyāmi
  6. I undertake to abstain from eating at the wrong time (the right time is after sunrise, before noon).
    Vikálabhojaná
    veramani sikkhāpadam samādiyāmi
  7. I undertake to abstain from singing, dancing, playing music, attending entertainment performances, wearing perfume, and using cosmetics and decorative accessories. Nacca gíta vádita visukadassaná málá gandha vilepana dhárana mandana vibhúsana††háná veramaši sikkhápadaµ samádhiyámi.
  8. I undertake to abstain from luxurious places for sitting or sleeping.
    Uccásayana mahásayana veramaši sikkhápadaµ samádhiyámi.

As a part of the tradition, the meditators wishing to cultivate a pure mind do observe the eight precepts. Usually, these people follow the five basic precepts (the first five) at all times. To speak for my own experience as a meditator, these five precepts are already extremely beneficial on my own spiritual cultivation. They are so natural that being inclined to a virtuous living, do observe them without being aware of it.

Jing

