Englisch- I am still able to surprise myself. First my journey to Singapore which should had been not more than a year long. Well at the end it lasted for 2 1/2 years and I transformed to a Chinese-Singaporean.

On this trip I am changing again. Jing is already laughing about me in a warm amusing way. I am now a domesticated Indian. Just this morning for breakfast both of us ordered food. One set was fried dal with chapati and the other was butter toast with omelet. The young waiter past the toast to me and the chapati to Jing. So wrong. I am the one who was eating every day 3 meals of Indian food and Jing is starving for continental breakfast. This is how misleading a first impression can be.

‘Stop shaking your head like an Indian as if it is connected with a spring to your shoulder’ Jing is scolding me. …and I shake my head and smile. Atcha.

German- Es gelingt mir doch immer wieder mich zu ueberraschen. Als erstes meine Reise nach Singapur die eigentlich nicht laenger als ein Jahr dauern sollte. Nun ja, es wurden dann am Ende 2 1/2 Jahre und ich verwandelte mich in eine chinesiche Singapurianerin.

Auf dieser Reise veraendere ich mich wieder. Jing lacht schon ueber mich warm und amuesiert. Ich bin nun eingewoehnte Inderin. Diesen Morgen haben beide von uns Fruehstueck bestellt. Eine Order war gebratener Dal mit Chapati und die andere Bestellung war Buttertoast mit Omelette. Der junge Kellner ueberreichte das Toast set mir und das Chapati set zu Jing. So was von falsch. Ich bin diejenige mit 3 Mahlzeiten indischen Essens und Jing vergeht fuer ein europaeisches Fruehstueck. Da sieht man mal wieder wie fehlleitend ein erster Eindruck sein kann.

‘Hoer auf mit deinen Kopf zu wackeln wie eine Inderin als ob er mit einer Metallfeder auf deinen Schultern sitzt!’ Jing schimpft mit mir. …und ich schuettele meinen Kopf und laechle. Atcha.

Alex

