English- The intensity of Kolkata seems to drip off each pore of the town. The night we arrived was pitch dark but here and there were neon light patches to illuminate the surrounding. Streets are full of sleeping people on carton boxes or sparely covered by canvas. Dogs stroll lonely through the dark in hope to find some food. 2.10am showed my watch when we finally reached our hotel.

kolkata01.jpg

At the next morning it seemed the whole population of Kolkata stayed in our hotel. Noises were reaching us from top, bottom and all four directions. With less then 5 hours sleep we made our way to town in search of food and a new accommodation. I have to admit that I don’t know how to describe Kolkata. .

kolkata03.jpg

Somehow all my images about India I can see in front of me but there taste and smell, the way I feel them is totally different. Dirty, depressing, smelly but colorful, facinating and wonderful is everything I discover. This place is capturing my attantion and all my senses switched on. To cross a street is a run of life and death. Kolkata doesn’t allow me to have a rest as long as my feet touch the streets and walkways. The only way to escape is to hide in cafeteria’s or bank buildings. In India it seems are love and hate side by side.  India cannot be explained you need to experience it.

Deutsch- Die intensitaet Kolkatas scheint aus jeder pore der stadt zu tropfen. Die nacht war schwarz als wir ankamen nur spartanisch erleuchteten vereinzelte Neonlichter die umgebung. Die strassen waren voll mit schlafenden menschen auf pappkartons oder unter planen. Einsam strollten hunde durch die nacht auf der suche nach essbarem. Meine uhr zeigte 2.10 als wir endlich unser hotel erreichten.

kolkata08.jpg

kolkata05.jpg

Am naechsten morgen erschien es mir als ob ganz Kolkata in unserem hotel uebernachtet haette. Geraeusche kamen von ueberall von oben, von unten und aus allen 4 himmelsrichtungen. Mit weniger als 5 stunden schlaf machten wir uns auf die suche nach essen und einer neuen unterkunft.

kolkata04.jpg

kolkata06.jpg

Ich muss gestehen, dass ich nicht weiss wie ich Kolkata beschreiben kann. Es ist als ob alle forstellungen ueber Indien nicht passen wuerden aber auch nicht falsch sind. Schmutzig, deprimierend, stinkend und doch farbenpraechtig, faszinierend und wundervoll sind meine entdeckungen. Die stadt fordered all meine aufmerksamkeit und all meine sinne. Eine strasse zu ueberquaeren wird ein lauf um leben und tod. Kolkata laesst mich nicht zur ruhe kommen solange meine fuesse die strassen und gehwege beruehren. Der einzige ausweg ist sich in cafes oder bankgebaeuden zu verstecken. Mir scheint das in indien liebe und hass seite an seite stehen. 

kolkata07.jpg

Alex

