English/Englisch…In Taoism there are millions of different god and goddess which you can worship and ask for protection and help. Myself I don’t know anything about Taoism except the common Ying/Yang symbol with a raff understanding. Jing’s family is following the goddess of mercy Kuan Yin which has protected her family for generations and has her altars in the house arrangement. But then her brother introduced us to another practice of Taoism – the Mao Shan path.

The practice of the Mao Shan Taoist group has a bad reputation because this name is connected to black magic and miss handling over the centuries. To understand more and to find some help for a peaceful and protected journey we went to see the Shi Fu the of Mao Shan temple in KK. The Shi Fu is teacher and leader of the group and has knowledge from healing to magic charms. This knowledge will be passed on from teacher to disciple. Founded was Mao Shan by 3 brothers who lived and meditated at mount Mao Shan in the 4th century.

With his 59 years Shi Fu appearce much younger. His body is well trained even though he stopped teaching martial arts for many years. His eyes drilled into mine when we shacked hands and I have to admit I felt a bid uncomfortable knowing he can magic. As much as I know and told he was taught in Taiwan and Thailand but from my first impression he looks everything else than a holy man. I found he is more a mix between gangster and a hippy. He is tattooed all over is body and is wearing military cloth and he is smoking and drinking coffee all the time. At the end he seems to be a simple and grounded person and I felt very relaxed in his presents.

The Shi Fu gave us a body check up for our trip. Based on Chinese medicine he read our different pulses and gave us advices to keep our health in shape. And I have to say he is very precise in is diagnoses. The whole time I depend fully on translation because everybody spoke mandarin except me. In the thought that many god to take care is better then 1 we went praying before we left for a save journey.

German/Deutsch…Im Taoismus gibt es millionen unterschiedliche Goetter und Goettinen die man anbeten und um hilfe ersuchen kann. Ich weiss eigentlich nichts ueber Taoismus ausser dem Symbol Yin/Yang und dessen grobe Bedeutung. Jing’s Familie betet seit Generation zur Goettin der Vergebung die ueberall im Haus ihre Altare hat. Ihr Bruder praktiziert eine andere Tradition – Mao Shan.

Die Praktiken der Mao Shan haben einen schlechten Ruf unter den anderen Taoisten da sie mit Schwarzer Magie und Missbrauch der Kraefte in Verbindung gebracht werden. Um etwas mehr zu Erfahren und auch Unterstuetzung fuer eine friedliche und sichere Weiterreise zu bekommen haben wir den Shi Fu des Mao Shan Tempels in KK besucht. Der Shi Fu ist der Lehere und Kopf der Gemeinde, sein Wissen streckt von Heilverfahren bis hin zu Magie. Gegruedet wurde diese Bewegung im 4. Jh bei 3 Bruedern die am Fusse des Mao Shan Berges lebten und meditierten.

Der Shi Fu erscheint juenger als er ist mit seinen 59 Jahren. Sein Koerper ist durchtrainiert obwohl er vor Jahren aufgehoert hat Kung Fu zu lehren. Als er zur Bergruessung meine Hand schuettelte bohrten seine Augen tief in die meinen und ich muss gestehen ich fuehlte mich etwas unwohl, wissend das er Magie kann. Soviel mir erzaehlt wurde lernte er in Taiwan und Thailand aber mein erster Eidruck war das er alles andere als heilig ist. Er ist mehr eine Mischung aus Gangster und Hippy. Als ich Ihn traf sass er auf dem Hof Kaffee trinkend und staendig rauchend in Militaerklamotten gekleided ueber seinem tattowierten Koerper. Am Ende meines Besuchs hatte ich den Eindruck eines einfachen und mit beiden Beinen in der Realitaet stehenden Mannes und fuehlte mich sehr entspannt in seiner Gegenwart.

Der Shi Fu ckeckte unsere Gesundheit basierent auf chinesischer Medizin. Er fuehlte unsere unterschiedlichen Pulse und gab uns Ratschlaege worauf wir achten sollten. Ich muss sagen das seine Diagnosen sehr genau waren. Die ganze Zeit wurde Mandarin gesprochen und widereinmal war ich abhaengig von Uebersetzungen. Ich denke immer das viele Goetter die ueber einen wachen besser ist als nur 1 God, also beteten wir am Ende noch fuer eine sichere Reise.

Alex

